7 Quick Takes About Health

seven-quick-takes-friday

1

I have never been what you’d call “active.” Even as a kid, I preferred reading indoors, in the air-conditioning, to tearing around in the heat. (Which made some sense given the long, humid summers in South Georgia). I was the stereotypical nerd: picked last in gym class, retreating to the outfield and praying no balls would come my way. I have never played on a team sport (outside of gym), unless you count playing street ball in the hood with my neighbors. In addition to my clumsiness and lack of fitness, I have always had terrible posture. I was diagnosed with mild scoliosis as a kid, and one of my shoulder blades has always stuck out. In order to sit up correctly in a chair, I have to consciously tuck the sucker back in, which is as comfortable and pain-free as it sounds. I’m twenty-eight years old with a hunchback.

2

In spite of this, I remained naturally slender, with a high metabolism and the ability to eat whatever and do nothing, until a year ago. A year ago I was put on Effexor XR, the anti-depression medication that finally did the trick. It also killed my metabolism; in the last year I’ve gained twenty pounds without changing my habits. My oh-so-cute pencil skirts won’t zip; blouses won’t button.

3

Vanity is not a compelling reason to pursue good health, not for me. Neither is the call to “get fit.” Fit for what? To do all those sports I’ve never done? To brag that I can run a 7 minute mile or finally do respectable pull-ups? I’m too young to fear old age, although I grimaced at those first grey hairs and wrinkles. So what’s the big deal about Health? Why even try?

4

Last week during choir practice, I had an epiphany. Our vocal coach was giving a presentation on health and the voice – how vocal chords work, how crucial hydration is, how poor posture ruins your breath control and circulation, how exercise gives you better control of your breathing, how adequate sleep affects your performance. And there it was, the reason to be healthy.

5

That may sound silly: to take care of my body so I can sing well but not simply to Be Healthy. But is it? After all, what is the point of health? To read our magazines and blogs and newspapers, you’d think that health is a goal unto itself, the God whose altar must be revered. Here’s a secret though: health matters because it enables you to do something you love. (I mean love in a deep sense – we don’t always enjoy every second of the thing we love to do). Whether that thing is singing, or running with your kids, or playing with your dog, or pursuing a physically demanding job, or preparing to give birth, or heck, just having good sex with your spouse. Health is when your body is able to keep up with where your mind wants to go.

6

And the tragic thing is that sometimes it’s impossible. My grandfather is in the hospital after a hard fall, and once he got there they discovered he had infections and all sorts of issues. He cannot even swallow plain water without aspirating into his lungs, so we have to use a gel-like substance. (It’s as gross as it sounds). When your body won’t even let you drink water, health is a cruel joke.

7

As I look at my grandfather, I resolve to take care of my body while I can, but to hold health lightly, as a tool, not a God. Because we’re never completely in control of what can happen to these bodies of ours.

3 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes About Health

  1. I was always picked last for sports teams too, lol. My only sport was cross country, I was quite good at that.

    I think most of us are not interested in health until we have a reason to care – like you for singing or my husband with his ridiculous blood pressure and gallbladder issues.

    Some people do seem to worship at the foot of ‘health’ though I agree, it’s the old ‘my body is temple’ thing…but the problem is the temple is meant to be there for something bigger not for itself, which I think fits in nicely with your thoughts about health being an enabler.

    🙂

    Like

  2. I like your insight about the temple! I’ve never thought of it that way, although I’ve heard that verse a million times. Maybe because I grew up Presbyterian, and we didn’t have Eucharistic theology and the concept of temples holding God. (It also made me think of a line from Jimmy Buffet: “I treat my body like a temple. You treat yours like a rent.”)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment